This forum is in READ-ONLY mode.
You can look around, but if you want to ask a new question, please use the new forum.
Home » development » Documentation » Potential improvements to symfony docs for 1.3/1.4 [renamed]
Re: Potential improvements to symfony docs for 1.3/1.4 [renamed] [message #99888 is a reply to message #91554 ] Wed, 26 May 2010 23:21 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Andromeda  is currently offline Andromeda
Messages: 64
Registered: July 2008
Location: Berlin, Germany
Member
i saw that already and then the new guide too, just awesome!!!
Re: Potential improvements to symfony docs for 1.3/1.4 [renamed] [message #102597 is a reply to message #91554 ] Fri, 16 July 2010 14:48 Go to previous messageGo to next message
perfectom  is currently offline perfectom
Messages: 3
Registered: July 2010
Junior Member
I understand this product is free and without guarantee. And I also understand that the community should contribute to the documentation, in the spirit of open source. What I have a problem with is that the main owners of this project must know the main documentation has completely wrong information in it. It would be a simple task to put a disclaimer on the documentation website saying 'this documentation is wrong'. Moreover, they are selling books for $40 USD with presumably this same wrong information.

I have spent a lot of time trying to figure out how to use the 1.3/4 forms system, etc. and it's almost impossible with the state of this documentation. For example, the documentation is wrong:
in http://www.symfony-project.org/gentle-introduction/1_4/en/10 -Forms , reference to method sfForm::setNameFormat:
$this->form->setNameFormat('contact[%s]');

But this method doesn't exist!


If I would have known up-front that the documentation was wrong I would have just stuck with symfony 1.0.

So I know a lot of people will get angry at this post and say 'so why don't you write documentation'. After I finish this project which I'm now struggling to finish on a tight deadline because of this documentation, I will. Also I really appreciate the developers efforts here, it's a fantastic product (if I can just figure out how to use it). But I would appreciate if the website was also a little more honest and forthcoming about the state of the documentation, currently it's very misleading. In my opinion 1.3/1.4 is not production ready if the documentation is wrong.

Thank you, -Tom

Re: Potential improvements to symfony docs for 1.3/1.4 [renamed] [message #102602 is a reply to message #91554 ] Fri, 16 July 2010 15:10 Go to previous messageGo to next message
halfer  is currently offline halfer
Messages: 9535
Registered: January 2006
Location: West Midlands, UK
Faithful Member
Documentation can always be improved upon, sure. I think this is just a mistake, rather than being out of date. The method is for the widgetSchema, so I think you can do:

$this->form->widgetSchema->setNameFormat( ... );

That said, I think you should do this in the form itself, rather than in the action.

Would be so kind as to raise a ticket? Hopefully then it will get seen to. Thanks.

http://trac.symfony-project.org/timeline


Remember Palestine
Re: Potential improvements to symfony docs for 1.3/1.4 [renamed] [message #102606 is a reply to message #102602 ] Fri, 16 July 2010 15:27 Go to previous messageGo to next message
perfectom  is currently offline perfectom
Messages: 3
Registered: July 2010
Junior Member
halfer, thanks for the fast update. I tried that, but it's a protected class property.


So I tried:
$this->form->getWidgetSchema()->setNameFormat('reserve[%s]');

but the 'reserve[name]' array is not being rendered in the form, still just 'name'.

thanks again -Tom
Re: Potential improvements to symfony docs for 1.3/1.4 [renamed] [message #102607 is a reply to message #91554 ] Fri, 16 July 2010 15:29 Go to previous messageGo to next message
halfer  is currently offline halfer
Messages: 9535
Registered: January 2006
Location: West Midlands, UK
Faithful Member
It definitely works if you do it inside the configure() method of the form itself, and I think that's a more encapsulated way to do it anyway. I know that approach works, since it's in the Jobeet tutorial, I've done that page, and it works on my machine Very Happy


Remember Palestine
Re: Potential improvements to symfony docs for 1.3/1.4 [renamed] [message #102612 is a reply to message #102607 ] Fri, 16 July 2010 15:46 Go to previous messageGo to next message
perfectom  is currently offline perfectom
Messages: 3
Registered: July 2010
Junior Member
ok, it doesn't work on my machine, no clue then. Thanks for your help here, though. I'm sorry but I'm really getting ready to give up on symfony, i'm jumping around between tutorials and docs and forums with 5 ways to do the same thing. It almost would be faster for me to learn a different framework Sad
Re: Potential improvements to symfony docs for 1.3/1.4 [renamed] [message #102614 is a reply to message #102612 ] Fri, 16 July 2010 15:51 Go to previous messageGo to next message
halfer  is currently offline halfer
Messages: 9535
Registered: January 2006
Location: West Midlands, UK
Faithful Member
I honestly don't think it will be faster to learn a different framework, and I don't say that out of any "Symfony protectionism" - everyone should use what works best for them. But if you switch to another framework you will, at some point, hit a problem with that also. Eventually you will run out of frameworks to give up on.

The key is, of course, not to give up. This is not the right thread to get into what's going wrong with your system, so I suggest you post a new thread in the 1.3/1.4 forum, and describe your problem.

Please raise that ticket on the error you spotted - it will help make symfony even better!

[Updated on: Fri, 16 July 2010 15:52]


Remember Palestine
Re: Potential improvements to symfony docs for 1.3/1.4 [renamed] [message #103381 is a reply to message #102607 ] Mon, 02 August 2010 00:24 Go to previous message
matt2314  is currently offline matt2314
Messages: 6
Registered: September 2009
Junior Member
Hi,

Just came across this thread because I had the same problem with
$this->widgetSchema->setNameFormat('myform[%s]');

If you put it in the the form's configure method you have to add it at the bottom, after you set the widgets. Not sure why that is but that solved my form problems.

Cheers

[Updated on: Mon, 02 August 2010 00:25]

Previous Topic:a newbie problem
Goto Forum:
  

powered by FUDforum - copyright ©2001-2004 FUD Forum Bulletin Board Software